Relationships

So why are you single?

Is this question based on the assumption that I am an awesome person and you can’t believe that no one has snatched me up yet or is this just an icebreaker, meaning you really could care less because you don’t want a relationship anyway. Maybe it’s neither. Maybe this is your way to get me to divulge all of my faults so that you can run away or proceed with caution. Whatever the reason, please stop asking. The fact is: I’m single. It is what it is. I’ve made a point of making my response to this question as ambiguous as possible. Even coyly responding, “Because I hadn’t met you yet”. But now, I will think aloud (with you listening of course) and try to find the answer.

One thing that I can’t say is that there are no good men out there. It simply isn’t true. The problem I have is that they are my friends. They are educated, funny and love to have a good time. That’s really all I need. I do have one other need though: They must speak English. You might be wondering why this is even an issue but I lived in Florida for two years and if you’ve been to Florida then you know why. Other than speaking English, everything else is a preference. I would prefer that they are funny or at least laugh at my jokes or tell me a funny story from time to time. I would prefer that they have a college education but a high school diploma is fine as long as you’ve been working since then or doing SOMETHING, ANYTHING other than hanging out with your friends. I would prefer that they had a nice body (it shows that they take care of themselves), were taller than me (I’m only 5’2”), had no kids, their own home/car, a job, etc… you get the idea. It would be nice to have a man who contained all of this but it’s not necessarily a deal breaker if they don’t.

So you may be wondering what I bring to the table. Well I think I’m awesome. I speak English fluently but I also know a little Japanese, French, Spanish and Arabic. I have one college degree (Economics) and I’m working on another (Internet Marketing). I can cook three course meals. I watch sports and I actually know what’s going on (rules and proper corresponding language).  I’m entertaining. I am sure to impress your mother. What else do you need?

Well I’ve come to the conclusion that I just haven’t met HIM yet. I don’t believe in soul mates but I do believe that there’s someone out there who “gets you”. In the interim, I’ll continue working on me. I’ll keep reading books about successful relationships (e.g. Friends: A Love Story by Angela Bassett) and praying for the day I get my chance to show what I’ve learned.

Are you single? If so, why?

What do you think?

