Technology

Technology Crippling You? There’s help!

When people think of technology their first thoughts are of cell phones and the Internet but what about everyday things we take for granted like automatic doors, elevators and the Belly Burner. These technological advances have made it possible for us to walk through a door with ease, relax as we move up to the highest floors of the building and work our abs as we sit and watch tv.

I went to the mall a couple of days ago (I didn’t buy anything) and the escalator was not operating. A man actually told his children “It’s broken. We have to find another way.” I can’t lie my first reaction was to look for the stairs but a light bulb went off and I realized that escalators ARE stairs. I had to laugh at myself because that is the moment I realized that technology was crippling me.

Back in the day, I had to get up and actually change the channel or turn up the volume on the television itself. Then the remote control was created. I thought the worse days were behind me but as I was watching tv in the living room I would hear someone screaming my name from the other side of the house. You would’ve thought she was being killed and I was the only one who could save her. It was my Granny and she wasn’t being killed, she was just too far away from the remote control and needed me to hand it to her.

I guess it runs in the family.

I always thought technological advances stemmed from a void needing to be filled but it can be rather inconvenient when things don’t perform as expected. A remote control is nice but only until you lose it or the batteries have died. People would rather scour their house from top to bottom or go to a store to buy batteries before they would manually get up to change the channel or adjust the volume.

Technology is so integrated into my daily life that it would be impossible to try to live without it in any form. Sure I wouldn’t need the Belly Burner if I took the stairs instead of the escalator but what would my friends think. I can’t turn my back on technology now. The whole reason for me going back to school is to take advantage of the Internet and all the wonderfulness it brings.

I’ll create a 12-step program. The first step is admitting the problem. I’ve done that. The second step is to find alternate solutions to achieve the same result. I’m working on that now.

Stay tuned for my progress and the other 10 steps.

“Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.” ~Arthur C. Clarke

One thought on “Technology Crippling You? There’s help!

What do you think?

