Getting to Know Me

Quarter-life Crisis Part 1: The Past

A year ago, next month, was one of the hardest times I’ve had in my life. I just began my career. I bought a new car. I had my own place. After years of being single, I finally had a boyfriend. And I finally made friends that were genuine and true.

Let me start from the beginning: I decided while I was in school that I would not graduate from college until I had a job offer. After postponing my graduation for six months, I received an offer from Disney in the form of an internship. They provided me with housing and I got paid. What more could I want fresh out of college? I completed my professional internship and a management internship followed. I was promoted to a full-time manager in June 2008 and thus my career began.

Around Thanksgiving of that year, my mother was rushed to the hospital. She was in there for a couple of weeks before she called crying from the hospital for me to come home. I was there the next day. While I was home, I hung out with a gentleman that I was known to go back and forth with and we decided to try out a relationship. My mom was released from the hospital around Christmas and I left shortly afterwards.

In Jan, my mother was taken back to the hospital for emergency surgery. With the stress of my mom’s health, my new relationship, and trying to keep in touch with friends from home, I became impetuous. I started doubting my job and questioning everything around me. I started trying to figure out what I wanted in life, the type of person I wanted to be, who’s really important, etc.

In March, I had enough. The relationship was not going as planned. My mother had a corrective surgery scheduled. There were lay-off rumors floating around Disney and I was slowly cracking. To alleviate myself of the stress, I planned a last-minute trip home.

The day I landed, I was immediately more relaxed. I spent time with my family and just laughed. The next afternoon, I finally saw my boyfriend and he broke up with me. I would be lying if I said I didn’t see it coming. There had been tension for months but neither of us said anything. Now I was single and still struggling to make sense of my life and everything that was going on. Not even 24 hours later, I got the call that I had been laid off. Now I was single and unemployed. I was crushed. Everything had been taken away from me and I didn’t know where or when to start rebuilding.

I cried most of that day and I hardly ever cry. I left hours after my mother’s surgery that Monday. I could’ve stayed longer but I wanted to be alone. Escaping to Florida was a blessing and a curse. I now had all the time in the world and I didn’t know what to do…

You start feeling insecure and wonder where you will be in a year or two, but then get scared because you barely know where you are now. ~Quarter Life Crisis

One thought on “Quarter-life Crisis Part 1: The Past

What do you think?

