Writing Exercises

Week 1: April Writing Challenge

If you complete the challenge, I suggest you post the results to your own blog and put the link in the comments section of this post. Feel free to trackback to my blog so your readers will know what you’re doing and can participate too.

There are long and short challenges. The short challenges can be done relatively quick and the longer challenges require more thought and time.

Short Challenge

Finish these four sentences:

I can’t believe I was afraid of…
I can’t believe I was intimidated by…
I can’t believe she never told me…
I can’t believe how many years it’s been since…

Write a haiku based on this exercise, one of your statements specifically or how you feel about writing.

Long Challenge

You are two years old. Write from this perspective.

Give yourself a name (with the initial C.A.T)
Nickname:
Eye Color:
Hair Color:
Favorite Food:
Siblings’ names/ages:
How they treat you:
Thoughts on toilet training:

Start with: Here I am stuck in my crib…

*Have fun and really think about what it’s like to be a child.

One thought on “Week 1: April Writing Challenge

What do you think?

