Getting to Know Me

Children and Money

I don’t even know where to start… so much has happened since my posts last month. I have started a new job and I have taken on the responsibility of raising my younger sister (next month). I just purchased a car last week and am now looking for a new apartment. As I think about all of my financial obligations I get worried about passing on my poor spending habits to my sister.

This is the first job I’ve had that is located in a mall and offers fabulous discounts on clothing that I actually want to wear (sorry Walmart). After bringing bags and bags of clothing items home because they were on sale, I started to worry about the costs of raising a child. My sister is only 11 years old and she’ll need money for lunch, an allowance, field trips, etc. I don’t want my shopping addiction to get in the way of her having what she needs. Of course it wouldn’t be intentional but I want to be able to give her what she needs and teach her a thing or two about how to handle money.

I have been browsing the net for hints and suggestions on how to teach children about money and financial responsibility. The gist of the articles were centered around being good examples for children to follow. If any parents or teachers are reading this please tell me what techniques you use to teach children about money.

What do you think?

